Home > Education, Homeschool > College Mistrust

College Mistrust

With the amount of schools contacting Youth 1, we’ve come across what may be disturbing signs for the homeschool community. These schools do not believe us.

There are plenty of schools happy to accept homeschoolers, but there are still plenty that do their best to discourage homeschoolers or even state in a round about way homeschool youth are not educated enough. I have already mentioned my Gettysburg College issue and their loss. Now we’ve encountered another school asking for letters of reference for homeschoolers ONLY.

My experience with homeschooling may have provided me some insight to the problem. This is a potentially serious problem for homeschoolers. The blame will be placed upon homeschooling families.

My posts from time to time mention what basically amounts to incompetent homeschooling by other families. Interacting with these homeschooler’s children informed me they are not teaching their children. It is frightening to talk to a mother whose 7th grader has yet to do math! How will this child catch up? How can I believe a child is gifted when they can not answer the basic science questions they are supposedly studying? How does one learn and comprehend a topic in twenty minutes? I experience poor homeschooling almost on a daily basis.

I think this is not a very common issue among homeschoolers, but it does not take many to ruin a reputation. When I worked in a manufacturing environment, we were told by a dealer that one bad experience adds up to ten then twenty and so on. If you buy a product and have a horrible experience with it, you will tell others about it. They are now influenced by you. If they hear from a second person, this product’s reputation is destroyed with this person. This is what we are seeing with homeschooling.

If you take yourself and nine other homeschooling families, how many are not providing an adequate education? If you have one family and there are four, five or even six children this problem magnifies.

As I reflect a moment, I can state that I have met at least three families with poor homeschooling habits. These are families in which I believe their children are being set up for failure. There are others that may be borderline. The percentage estimate is over 10%. That is a lot!

Is there a way to regulate homeschoolers within the homeschool community? There are diploma programs for homeschoolers run by homeschool groups. This doesn’t catch the “bad” homeschoolers. You can’t shame a homeschooler. Homeschoolers need to educate potential homeschooling families. If you can’t put forth the effort then don’t homeschool.

I do not know the correct answer. My thoughts are to educate potential homeschoolers. This is where you can re-direct those not willing or able to put forth the effort required for homeschooling children. Homeschooling is not easy and is not meant to be.

  1. November 18, 2013 at 3:45 am

    All great points! I wish more parents would remember we are supposed to be, in fact, educating our children. There may be different methods by which to educate, but educate we must.
    I appreciate hearing about your college entrance experiences, thank you for sharing. This gives me a good idea of what to expect in the near future.

    • November 18, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      I do hope this helps fellow homeschoolers. There are schools that have no issue with homeschoolers.
      My oldest decided not to try Coastal Carolina, but they were very receptive to us as homeschoolers. The Coast Guard Academy didn’t have much of an issue, either.
      Our latest school sent us an insulting letter with a list of to do’s and had the last item circled. The only reason they were an option was money and not education.
      There is a trick some families use. I’ll need to do a short post on it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

