Home > Education, Homeschool > Changes

Changes

When I think of the word changes the David Bowie song comes to mind. Too bad my voice does not represent the spirit of the song as I type.

Educational material is never static. Like the SAT which I just found out about, the material content and style changes over time. What was good yesterday is now no longer the case. Improvements are sometimes made and quality sometimes deteriorate.

As I look at some of my current curriculum, I would like to make a few updates.

Homeschool Spanish Academy: This program has improved immensely with the addition of instructors. The availability of instructors was my biggest issue other than price. I really like this program concept. Nothing beat being able to converse with a native speaker.

Write At Home: This online program has taken a big dive. I must say we are very disappointed in the program this year. The Educator and I do not think the current evaluator is stringent enough. Youth 2 is not being challenged. The evaluator is missing mistakes by Youth 2. There is serious consideration of curriculum change.

SAT: It looks like we need to dumb down the SAT. This is an unfair statement, but from what I briefly saw in the news – dumb down! A boy was complaining about using geometry and trigonometry to find an answer. Hello! I along with many other engineers use this almost every day. What is disappointing is this ruins the preparation for Youth 2. This change is to take effect in 2016.

This is a brief rundown of our current curriculum issues.

  1. March 6, 2014 at 6:58 am

    I just read about the SAT’s today as well. Your reaction was pretty much the same as my husband’s.

    • March 8, 2014 at 3:31 pm

      There is a strong indication of Common Core relationship with the new SAT changes. We dumb it down to meet the level of Common Core.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

