Home > Homeschool Science > Life of homeschool science #5

Life of homeschool science #5

Support.

Unlike many adults, I do not find it odd to come home and see paperclipped leaves and paper on a tree alongside my driveway. Entering our kitchen, it is not uncommon to see organic items in various states of decay and rot. A visitor would think us a bit untidy with our food. I am not surprised to see a blue or purple celery stalk or some liquid concoction of a strange color. Open my closet door and I can find some type of plant growing there such as a lima bean. I have no problem of having to stand and eat my dinner because an lab experiment is in progress on our dining room table or has just finished. There was even a time when the solar system was pinned to our living room wall that required my covering the holes as the Educator repainted the living room later on. I must confess the room was due to be painted in the summer.

There are strange requests, too. It is not uncommon for me to receive requisition requests for items. We do not regularly consume two liters bottles of soda. I find Walmart, Lowes and the local grocery store a nice place to get some of the items. Others I must rely on ordering from Amazon.

There are experiments where I am asked to be involved in. There has been a time where I had to set up a telescope in 40°F weather for Youth 1 and Youth 2 to see a planet or the moon. I have been asked to help identify the type of lizard we have or to find directions to the Maryland Science Center and participate.

I support my family in these tasks as well as other homeschooling tasks. I am inconvenienced often but willingly go along with this. Eat cereal, waffles or some other quick food for a dinner is not minded by me. This is part of my duty as a spouse and parent.

Homeschooling in general requires support from the spouse. The more active the support is the easier and more educational homeschooling is. It is sad for me to hear some homeschooling families that MUST clean up the area before the husband is home and need to get that meal ready. How is this translated to the children? The message is as straightforward as intended, though not the message that was expected.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

