Home > Education, Homeschool > Classics

Classics

With a recent surge of events keeping my attention, posting has become difficult. Homeschool hiatus doesn’t help. I have to place a disclaimer here stating we do continue to homeschool throughout the summer but not at actively as the standard school year.

The push for Common Core and from many sources the lack of the classics has brought me into this realm of discussion today, provided I am able to spell. I have rewritten each sentence more than once. Morning brain malfunction at work. Java is not helping. My train of thought may be lacking, too.

As I stated in a horrible manner, the classics are not emphasized in Common Core. I do not know if this is state specific though the states I have looked into are not utilizing the classics. When we think of the classics, we generally think Greek and to a lesser extent Roman. This means studying the philosophy, history, art and even culture of the ancient period. This is not one of the favorite areas of study for many high school students. Typically you appreciate this after you graduate and maybe in college.

My oldest son has to read Plato in college for a honors course. Next week there will be a discussion about Book 1. This section asks the question “What is justice?” Ponder this for a moment. In your thoughts, what is justice? When I thought of Book I and the question, I began to ask myself this question.

To me, justice is a current viewpoint on right and wrong. This justice is determined by those in power. It differs from country to country and religion to religion. In fact, Christianity may not have a true definition of justice other than God will mete out justice in the afterlife. As for laws, these are current viewpoints. Look to four-hundred years ago at a crime and compare it today. Justice is different. The reality of justice is it does not exist. Justice is an explicit human societal meaning for in the wild there is no such thing as justice.

Okay, that is just a cobbling of my thoughts and likely what my son will have to discuss at the university.

Studying the classics is very important even today. These men of the past faced the same societal and political challenges as we do today. We can learn from studying the classics. The United States is a western based society where our past is linked to Rome and Greece. How do we understand ourselves if we do not understand our past?

I encouraged homeschooling parents and school teachers to teach the classics. This is more important than modern literature about sex, homosexuality or other narcissistic literature. Studying classical literature is as current as ever.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

