Home > Books, Books / Reading > A Book That Should Never Be In Circulation

A Book That Should Never Be In Circulation

There is one fictional book that may still be believed as true, and it led to another misery of fiction written by Dan Brown. I speaking of Holy Blood and the Holy Grail. I recall the first time I heard of this book. My roommate and friend was reading it thinking it to be true. It was the rage within my friend group but only a few took it seriously. Sadly, this friend of mine likely still believes it to be true today and he’s teaching as some college likely misguiding students to this day. My experience of this book was different than his.

At first glance, you are amazed at what is said to be true. It captivated me so much after reading it that I spent time trying to figure everything out. When you are introduced to something that not just flips what you know and understand but entirely destroys it you are in shock at first, but if you just keep calm you begin to see flaws and issues with what has surprised you. This book never was able to influence me even with the limited knowledge I had then. This was a time when I was told much of what I knew about early Christianity was at best hearsay and nothing could be verified. In fact, I recall being told by those with PhDs that what we knew of the first century to the fifth century was little and the evidence wasn’t there. The fact is these “experts” were not knowledgable in the subject and had an agenda for misinforming students. To make things clear, they never discussed this book.

What I found the book to be was fanciful and unrelated to what we really know of early Christianity and Jesus. This book is a pseudo-history at best and a potentially great fictional novel but not one with historical meaning or significance. The authors afterall were not historians and really did not research from what I could find or remember. They actually bought into Pierre Plantard’s charade and wrote a book. The idea of “you can’t make this up” is out of the window as Pierre did make it up. The fictional idea of the Merovingian line descended from Jesus and Mary Magdalene. is so outrageous as there is nothing other than the fiction Pierre created that could ever lead you this that conclusion. That book created a lot of nonsense for a time and now we have trash like Dan Brown’s book.

Do I recommend the book? No. It is entirely a waste of time even for fiction. There is a shame on you to the authors of the book unless they knowlingly wrote this fiction for profit. If they thought there was any truth to this then we have three stooges. They could have spent time researching real history and the documents to show how much of a stretch this story really is to suggest it is real. Thankfully, I borrowed the book and was aware enough to question much and look into it further when people were telling me the story was true. There is one lesson I have learned from this book and that is to question the veracity of what you read and are told even if they claim to be an expert.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment