Home > Entertainment > House

House

I do not often watch television shows as I no longer have cable or satellite reception. The last show I routinely watched was the walking dead show that I did for my son. Entertaining as it was, it was also frustratingly stupid, and I’m not talking about dead people without muscle, tendons and such moving their appendages. No, I am talking about the poor writing in terms of characters which is a story for another time. House is actually new to me as in the early 2000’s I wasn’t hanging onto television shows. Due the fact House deals with medicine my wife and I were asked to watch it with my son.

If you want to know whether or not this is medical realism I suggest you find the YouTube doctors who cover episodes of House. What I will say is a person who just had a heart transplant isn’t so chipper after surgery. As for the diagnoses, they are a stretch. If you like Sherlock Holmes then you will like House and his method of solving medical situations. Yes, my wife and I tried to figure things out as the story moved along.

What I enjoy most is the character House played by Hugh Laurie. I am quite familiar with Laurie from Jeeves and Wooster where he played Bertie Wooster. If you’re a reader then you’ll love the books. Yes, I also am familiar with him in the Blackadder series. I have enjoyed his acting style and he does well with his character Dr. Gregory House. The way he rambles off his lines are quite poetic and the way he holds himself as the character makes you enjoy an unlikable character. In some ways, his character is much like Sherlock Holmes. I should say that the show in some ways reminds me of Columbo, another show that I’ve always enjoyed except he and Columbo are not the same.

The show has a nice flow to it and in some respects reminds me of the show Trauma: Life in the E.R. before it had to be faked. I believe a few lawsuits stopped it, though I could be wrong. It doesn’t matter. But House has some element to it that reminds me of the show. I would be replaced by Untold Stories of the E.R. The way the show moves was something I am familiar with.

As for medical dramas, I’d say this is my favorite, though, I really have never watched them. I am just not interested in all that character drama. The patient care was always fake. They way the interactions with House go doesn’t bother me even when they throw in some rare condition such as sarcoidosis. Very few people are familiar with that disease that we have yet to know why it happens.

Will I continue to watch this show with my son? I doubt it. I may watch an episode here and there, but I’ve moved beyond watching these shows. I couldn’t finish Season 2 of Peaky Blinders before I get bored and he finished it without me. Tonight I didn’t waste the night as I spent some time with my son, but I don’t think we’ll be doing this that often as our schedules do not match.

If you haven’t watched the show before I suggest give it a try. I think it may be on Amazon Prime, and I’ll say this show is far more worthwhile than the flop Rings of Power.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment